Long-form from the first plan, up to three hours.
StoryShort is a faceless Shorts machine that auto-posts on a schedule, with 10 to 30 minute long-form on its $129 and $199 plans. Autotube is long-form on every plan.
Which one to buy.
StoryShort: A Shorts machine that posts on a schedule, with long-form bolted on top. Best for: Someone whose channel is genuinely short-form first and wants posting on autopilot, with a longer video now and then as a side dish.
StoryShort is a Shorts machine with long-form attached, and that sentence is the whole comparison. Its $39 and $69 plans do not make long-form at all. Long-form arrives on the $129 plan, caps at 30 minutes, and costs 85 to 150 of the plan's credits per video — so on their own figures a long-form habit eats a meaningful share of a plan you bought for volume.
Autotube is the other way round. Long-form is on every plan, from 3 minutes to 3 hours, with a researched script of up to 45,000 words behind it, and there is no Shorts product at all. If your channel is genuinely short-form first, StoryShort is built for you and Autotube is not — it makes no vertical video, and no amount of feature comparison changes that.
One thing StoryShort does better than almost anything on this site: it posts. Set a Series once and it generates and publishes to TikTok and YouTube on a daily schedule without you opening the app. It also refunds any payment within fourteen days, renewals included, which is the most generous stated refund window of any tool here except one. Autotube renders a file and leaves the upload to you.
Plans, side by side.
Monthly prices, and what a month of each plan buys.
StoryShort
Source, checked 20 September 2026- Starter400 credits · 1 Series · about 25 to 40 shorts · no long-form$39per month
- Growth1,200 credits · 2 Series · about 80 to 120 shorts · no long-form$69per month
- Influencer2,400 credits · 3 Series · long-form and UGC included$129per month
- Ultra5,000 credits · 4 Series · long-form and UGC included$199per month
Monthly prices; their pricing page defaults to yearly billing, which it shows as a 40% saving — Starter reads $23 a month at $279 billed yearly. A long-form video costs 85 to 150 of their credits.
Autotube
Full pricing- Creator5,200 AI credits a month · ≈ 4–15 videos a month at typical settings · videos to 3 hours$50per month
- Pro12,000 AI credits a month · ≈ 9–35 videos a month at typical settings · videos to 3 hours$99per month
- Own KeysEverything in Pro on your own API keys, no per-generation markup$59per month
Where the two differ.
| StoryShort | Autotube | |
|---|---|---|
| Entry plan | $39 a month; long-form from $129 | $50 a month |
| Built for | Short-form, with long-form on the top two plans | Long-form YouTube, 3 minutes to 3 hours |
| Longest video | 30 minutes | 3 hours |
| Title to finished video | Prompt to an auto-posted video | Research, script, voiceover, visuals and render in one run |
| Title ideas | Not stated | From your channel's winners and competitors' outliers |
| Channel presets | 1 to 4 auto-posting Series by plan | Up to 10 channels, each with its own voice and style |
| Voice clones | Not stated | Included on every plan |
| Unused credits | Not stated | Roll over while subscribed, expire 30 days after the subscription ends |
| Bring your own AI keys | Not stated | Own Keys plan, no per-generation markup |
| Free access | None offered | None offered |
StoryShort on refunds, quoted from their site on 20 September 2026: “You can request a full refund of any payment, whether a first payment or a renewal, monthly or annual, within 14 days of the payment date.”
StoryShort on video length, quoted from their site on 20 September 2026: “Create professional 10-30 minute videos automatically”
StoryShort is a trademark of its owner. Autotube is not affiliated with StoryShort; this page compares public information for people choosing between the two.
6 differences worth reading about.
A table says "30 minutes". What it cannot say is what a ceiling does to a channel, which plan you would really be on, or where StoryShort is the better buy.
- 1
Long-form as a product, or long-form as an extra
Every tool in this category now lists long-form somewhere. The useful question is whether the feature was designed or appended: whether there is research and script structure behind an hour of narration, or whether a short-form generator has been allowed to run for longer. A channel whose main format is long-form is buying the whole apparatus, not the checkbox.
- StoryShort
- StoryShort's long-form is a top-plan feature. It is absent from Starter at $39 and Growth at $69, arrives on Influencer at $129 and Ultra at $199, and their own long-form page describes 10-to-30-minute videos. That is a real capability with a real ceiling, priced as an upgrade.
- Autotube
- Long-form is the only thing Autotube makes. Every plan renders 3 minutes to 3 hours from a researched script of up to 45,000 words, with narration generated as one continuous piece and visuals timed to it. There is no tier that unlocks it because there is nothing else to unlock.
Ours for a long-form channel, and not by a small margin — theirs stops at half an hour and starts at their third tier.
- 2
What a long video costs inside the plan
A credit allowance means nothing until you know what your format spends. The number that matters is not how many credits a plan grants but how many of your actual videos it buys, and a tool priced for one format will quietly be expensive in another.
- StoryShort
- Their pricing page prices a long-form video at 85 to 150 credits. Influencer grants 2,400 credits and Ultra grants 5,000, so on their own arithmetic a month of long-form output competes directly with the Shorts the plan was sized for. The plans are described in shorts — roughly 25 to 40 on Starter, 80 to 120 on Growth — which tells you what the credit budget was designed around.
- Autotube
- Autotube's plans are sized for full-length videos, and the app shows the exact credit cost of every step — research, script, voiceover, visuals, render — before it runs. Unused credits roll over while you are subscribed, so a month with fewer uploads is not a month of wasted allowance.
Ours for anyone whose main output is long. Theirs if the long video is occasional and the Shorts are the point, which is exactly the reader their pricing is built for.
- 3
Publishing, and who does it
The gap between a rendered file and a published video is small on any single day and enormous across a year of uploads. Automatic posting is the difference between a tool you operate and a tool that operates, and for high-frequency formats it is most of the value.
- StoryShort
- This is StoryShort at its best. A Series is configured once and then generates and posts faceless videos to TikTok and YouTube on a daily schedule, with one to four Series depending on plan. It covers a wide spread of short formats — ASMR, UGC-style ads, talking avatars — and none of it needs you present.
- Autotube
- Autotube renders a publish-ready file and stops. There is no scheduler, no auto-posting and no social integration, so the upload, the title and the description are yours. For a weekly long-form video that is a few minutes; for a daily Short it would be untenable, which is part of why Autotube does not make them.
Theirs, without qualification. Automated posting is a capability Autotube simply does not have.
- 4
The price you see, and the price you pay monthly
How a pricing page is arranged is not a trivial matter. A page that defaults to annual billing is quoting a number that only applies if you commit for a year, and a buyer comparing that number against a monthly one somewhere else is comparing two different things.
- StoryShort
- StoryShort's pricing page defaults to yearly billing and presents it as a 40% saving: Starter reads $23 a month when billed yearly at $279. The monthly prices are $39, $69, $129 and $199, and those are the figures used throughout this page so the comparison is like for like.
- Autotube
- The plan cards above are drawn from the live catalog at monthly billing, for the same reason. Annual billing exists and is cheaper per month; a comparison that mixed one tool's annual rate with another's monthly rate would be worthless.
A tie on substance and a caution on presentation. Check which interval a quoted price assumes before treating it as their entry price.
- 5
What happens to credits, and what the fine print says
Credit expiry and refund policy are the two clauses that decide the cost of being wrong. Between them they answer the only question that matters before a card is charged: what happens to money you have handed over and not yet used?
- StoryShort
- Their pricing page does not say what happens to unused credits, so that row reads not stated. Their refund policy, though, is one of the best here: a full refund of any payment, first or renewal, monthly or annual, within 14 days of the payment date. That is a real commitment and they deserve credit for it.
- Autotube
- Autotube credits roll over while you are subscribed and expire 30 days after the subscription ends, so an unused balance is held rather than reclaimed each month — but there is no window in which the payment itself comes back.
Split. Ours on a stated credit rule, theirs on refunds — and a 14-day no-conditions refund on renewals is a stronger promise than most companies in this category make.
- 6
Whether the two tools are even substitutes
Plenty of comparison pages imply that two tools are interchangeable because they both make video. When one makes vertical clips for a daily feed and the other makes horizontal videos an hour long, they are not competitors so much as two halves of a publishing operation, and a buyer choosing between them may actually need both.
- StoryShort
- StoryShort makes short-form as its core product, with long-form as an upgrade. Its Series model, its posting schedule and its credit budgets are all arranged around frequent short videos.
- Autotube
- Autotube makes horizontal long-form and nothing else: no Shorts, no vertical video, no scheduler. What it optimises for is one channel-consistent long video produced end to end without anyone having to open an editor.
Neither, and that is the honest answer. Many channels run short-form to find an audience and long-form to keep it, and the two tools sit on opposite sides of that split.
What you gain over StoryShort.
Every line here is a difference against the rows and policies quoted above, not a feature list.
Long-form on the cheapest plan
Every Autotube plan renders 3 minutes to 3 hours. StoryShort's $39 and $69 plans make no long-form at all, and the long-form that arrives at $129 stops at 30 minutes.
Six times the runtime
Three hours against thirty minutes, from a script written to that runtime rather than a short-form generator allowed to run longer.
Researched scripts to 45,000 words
A research pass, then a script written to the channel's brief. It is the part of a long video that cannot be improvised, and it is what a 30-minute ceiling never has to solve.
Credits that roll over while you subscribe
Autotube credits roll over while you are subscribed and expire 30 days after the subscription ends. StoryShort's pricing page does not state what happens to unused credits.
Ten channel presets instead of one to four Series
Ten channels, each with its own brief, narration voice and visual style. StoryShort allows one Series on Starter, rising to four on Ultra.
Voice clones on every plan
Cloning is included from the cheapest Autotube plan. StoryShort's pricing page does not state whether voice cloning is offered at all.
The cost of a run, before the run
Every step is priced in credits and shown before it executes, which matters most on the long videos where a surprise is expensive.
Where StoryShort genuinely wins.
We make Autotube, and these are real. If one of them is the thing you need, buy StoryShort — we would rather you read this page once and trust it than switch and regret it.
It posts for you, every day, to TikTok and YouTube
Configure a Series once and StoryShort generates and publishes on a schedule without you opening the app. Autotube has no scheduler and no social integration at all — it renders a file and you upload it. For a daily posting cadence, theirs is the only viable model of the two.
Shorts, and a wide range of them
ASMR, UGC-style ads, talking avatars and more, as core formats rather than afterthoughts. Autotube makes no vertical video whatsoever, so a Shorts-first channel is not choosing between these two tools — it is choosing StoryShort.
A full refund within 14 days, renewals included
Their policy covers any payment, first or renewal, monthly or annual, within 14 days of the payment date, with no conditions about credits used. That is more generous than most of this category and more generous than ours in the first two weeks.
A cheaper entry point for short-form volume
$39 a month buys roughly 25 to 40 shorts. If your output is measured in clips per week rather than hours per month, that is better value than anything Autotube sells, because Autotube's credits are sized for full-length video.
How this comparison was made.
We make Autotube, so this page is not neutral and does not pretend to be. What it is instead is checkable: every price, cap and policy attributed to another company was read from that company's own pricing or terms page on the date printed beside it, and every link goes to the live source rather than to a screenshot of it.
There are no affiliate links on this site and no sponsored placements, so nothing here is written to earn a commission on where you land, and nothing on this page was paid for by anybody named on it.
Every tool named here carries a stated flaw, ours included, and where another tool is the better answer for the job you actually have, the page says so. A page claiming we win every row would be exactly as useful to you as the ones claiming it about themselves.
There are no scores and no star ratings here, on anyone's product. A number implies a methodology, and a number a company attaches to its own competitor is worth even less than that. What these pages give you instead is what each tool caps, what it charges and what it refuses to do — each of them checkable in one click.
Where the other company's own wording decides something — a credit rule, a cap, a refund policy — this page quotes it rather than paraphrasing it, and prints the page it was quoted from beneath the table. If the thing you need is in their column, buy theirs.
Prices in this category move fast, and the cheapest plan a pricing page advertises is not always the cheapest plan that does the whole job. The plan cards above show every tier either product sells, so you can compare the plan you would actually be on rather than the one the headline quotes.
What we could not verify
Every figure attributed to StoryShort on this page was read from their own pages on 20 September 2026. These are the questions those pages did not answer, left open rather than estimated:
- — StoryShort's pricing page does not state what happens to unused credits, so the table reads not stated rather than assuming either way.
- — Their pricing page says nothing about voice cloning, ideation or bringing your own API keys, so those rows are blank on their side. Absent is what we print when their own page does not answer.
- — Their long-form ceiling is quoted from their long-form product page — “10-30 minute videos” — rather than from a per-plan specification, so we cannot say whether Ultra at $199 permits more runtime than Influencer at $129. Their pricing page does not differentiate the two on length.
And the flaw on our side
It makes no Shorts and no vertical video, and its editor is built for adjusting a finished run rather than for craft: no colour grading, no keyframes, no multiplayer. It is one founder's product rather than a company with a support rota, there is no free plan to poke at before you subscribe, and a three-hour render takes real minutes on real hardware — the pipeline is honest about that up front rather than pretending an hour of video is instant.
StoryShort carries its own, stated above: Long-form is a top-plan feature rather than a product. It starts at $129 a month, caps at 30 minutes, and one long video spends 85 to 150 of the credits the plan gives you; the $39 and $69 plans do not make long-form at all.
Switching from StoryShort
Weighing something else?
Make the next one in Autotube.
Bring a title. The app shows the exact credit cost before it runs a thing.